This is the "Home" page of the "The Spirit of Mask Making - Social Studies - 7th grade" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Spirit of Mask Making - Social Studies - 7th grade  

Last Updated: Dec 6, 2016 URL: http://lms.bluevalleyk12.libguides.com/content.php?pid=701453 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Learning Targets

I can locate information in books, websites, and databases relevant to the assignment.

I can take notes using my own words.

I can use Smore to create an online newsletter to demonstrate my knowledge of my chosen tribe.

I can use Book Creator on an iPad to document creating my mask.

 

Mask Presentation Outline

 

Book Creator Guide

 

Adding Hyperlinks to Book Creator

 

Works Cited Info

  1. MLA citations are done for you on all databases. Copy & paste in alpha order. The citations are at the bottom of each database except Britannica (the citation is at the top, click on the check mark).
  2. Use EasyBib to create citations for the web sites & books.

African Tribes

 

Gale Virtual Library

 

Smore Directions

Smore Web Site

 

Easy Bib

EasyBib: the bibliography maker.
 

Book Creator Tutorial

The Spirit of the Mask Web Site

 

Assignments

Research & create a Smore presentation about your chosen African, South American or Ancient Asian tribe or culture. Include information on their culture, dance, music, traditions, religion, and geography of the region where they live.

 

World Book Encyclopedia

 

Encyclopedia Britannica

 

Smore Tutorial

Librarian

Profile Image
Linda Lawson
Contact Info
2410 W. 123rd Street
Leawood, KS 66209
913-239-5310
Send Email
 

CARS Web Site Reliability

C-Credibility: How reliable is the person creating the information? Can you trace to a reputable organization such as a university, a national organization, etc.? If it is written by an author, is there a first and last name, email contact, overview of credentials, etc.? In other words, is the source trustworthy?

A-Accuracy: Is the information current? Does it give specific details to support claims such as statistics and when they were taken? Does it avoid vague language such as always, never, sometimes, etc.? Does it provide well-rounded coverage of the topic?

R-Reasonable/Reliable: Is the information balanced? Is the language professional? Is it written objectively or does it appear slanted? Is it selling/promoting something that would be a clear conflict of interest? Does it overclaim without specific support (ex: Thousands of children live on the streets today)?

S-Support: Are sources listed, contact information, something to show where the information is coming from, a bibliography,etc.?

 

Works Cited Example

 

Works Cited Rubric

 

Database Passwords for Home Access

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip